Dream, mirage, or reality?

I recently asked Theresa this question:  What if our whole study abroad experience has been a mirage induced by heat exhaustion?

We both agree that it’s plausible.

The semester is almost over.  In 10 days I will be getting on a plane and heading back to Iowa, and as we start to reminisce and think back on all we’ve done, I can’t help but wonder:  Was it real?

Did I really climb ancient, unrestored pyramids and look out over jungles and mountains?

Did I really play Mexican Loteria with my mom and her friends and win the jackpot twice in a row?

Did I really see monkeys, parrots, and crocodiles?

Did I jump off a boat in the middle of nowhere to snorkel in the Caribbean?

Did I eat pan dulce, tamales, salbutes, and other Mexican foods?  (Alright, I suppose I’ve got the gut to prove that one.)

Did I move into a homestay and actually have converstations in Spanish that made sense?

Did I bathe with a bucket of water and make homemade tortillas in a small Mayan pueblo?

Did I visit one of the 7 wonders of the world?

Did I make local friends?

Did I sleep in a hammock?

This is a short list of things I’ve done, but thinking back, the semester has been full of incredible experiernces.  I’ve done things I never would have thought or believed I would.  And if it weren’t for the pictures I’ve taken, I probably still wouldn’t believe it when I returned home.  Luckily, however, this dream is true.  

Leave a Reply

